Dinara Klinton: “Franz Liszt Études d’exécution transcendante”; GENUIN, 2016

Recorded at the Mendelssohn-Saal, Gewandhaus Leipzig, 2-4 June 2015.

Stream or buy on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, PrestoClassical

BBC Music Magazine’s Instrumental Choice of the Month
HR 2 Kultur

List of tracks:

  1. Preludio [01’02]
  2. untitled – Molto vivace [02’25]
  3. Paysage [05’07]
  4. Mazeppa [07’43]
  5. Feux follets. Irrlichter [03’40]
  6. Vision [05’33]
  7. Eroica [04’49]
  8. Wilde Jagd [05’40]
  9. Ricordanza [11’11]
  10. untitled – Allegro agitato molto [04’57]
  11. Harmonies du soir [09’25]
  12. Chasse-Neige [05’42]

Total time: 67:21

“Dinara Klinton…indeed proved herself a poetic player… excitingly volatile mix of virtuosily and musicianship.”

John Alisson, Opera.


Dinara Nadzhafova: “Music of Chopin and Liszt”; Delos, 2007

Recorded at the Great Hall of Moscow Conservatory in April 2006.

Stream or buy on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, Naxos

List of tracks:

  • Liszt Hungarian Rhapsody, for piano No. 2, S. 244/2
  • Liszt Sonetto del Petrarca No. 123 (Années II/6), S. 161/6
  • Liszt Valse oubliée No. 1, S. 215/1
  • Liszt Liebesträume No. 3, S. 541/3
  • Liszt Hungarian Rhapsody No. 6, S. 244/6
  • Liszt Feux-follets, (Transcendental Etude No. 5), S. 139/5
  • Chopin 12 Etudes, Op. 10

Total time: 63:24

Music of Chopin and Liszt” CD by Dinara Klinton.

Pianist Dinara Klinton came to my attention when I heard her perform at St James’ Church Piccadilly last year. She played Chopin’s Etudes Op.25 and her extraordinary talent was evident straight away.

Dinara is a pianist who combines supreme technical ability with thoughtful and artistic expressions and articulation. At her young age, she already shows such matured excellence and tasteful approach in her music making. This CD is no exception. The surprising part is that she recorded this CD when she was much younger – it is hard to believe that a CD of this quality, containing musical gems by Liszt and Chopin, was made by a mere 18-year-old performer.

All the Liszt pieces on this CD are impeccably played with transparent and clear sounds. The accuracy of her playing is impressive, even the most incredibly demanding and fast passages have no ambiguity.   In all the pieces, the melody lines are clear and beautifully illustrated while the supportive role of the skillful left hand adds more flavour. For instance, the Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 can only be described as a brilliant execution of all the above qualities combined. Sonetto 123 del Petrarca shows the true beauty of her sounds; the melody is lyrical and touching, and every note shines. The notoriously difficult double-stop passages of Transcendental Etude No. 5 are dynamic and clear with no hint of effort. This piece displays Dinara’s expressiveness as well, not only showing off her technical skills. The subtle pianissimo ending of arpeggios is most gorgeous.

Dinara’s playing of Chopin’s Etudes Op. 10 is equally impressive and shares the same view as above. She grasps and understands each etude’s technical challenge and aspect; at the same time she displays and maximizes its melodious beauty in each study, which adds even more joy to listen. In all the fast Etudes, she keeps dynamism and brilliant speed. The slow etudes, for instance Etude No. 6 in E-flat Minor, on the contrary, expresses emotional waves. Her keyboard touch is skillfully controlled, producing a variety of sounds ranging from the most dynamic to ever so subtle. These studies show and prove Dinara’s musical capability and ability at the top international level, and given it was recorded many years ago, what she possesses now must be amazing.

Kumi Smith-Gordon

“Masterly technique, musical insight and charming, unfussy stage presence.”

Robin Gregory, Eastbourne Herald

“A deep understanding and intuition for poetry in the music of Chopin.”

Michael Moran